Eleanor Estes/Moffat Books

Thursday, September 04, 2008

The Dark is Rising sequence

Editorial review from Amazon:
In the five-title series of novels known as The Dark Is Rising Sequence, these children pit the power of good against the evil forces of Dark in a timeless and dangerous battle that includes crystal swords, golden grails, and a silver-eyed dog that can see the wind. Susan Cooper's highly acclaimed fantasy novels, steeped in Celtic and Welsh legends, have won numerous awards, including the Newbery Medal and the Newbery Honor. Now all five paperback volumes have been collected in one smart boxed set. These classic fantasies, complex and multifaceted, should not be missed, by child or adult. --Emilie Coulter

Must be read in order:
  • Over Sea, Under Stone (IA) +
  • The Dark is Rising (IA) +
  • Greenwitch (IA) +
  • The Grey King (IA) +
  • Silver on the Tree (IA) +
  • No comments: